WAEC Curriculum for All Subjects – 2017

WAEC Curriculum for All Subjects – 2017 – The new curriculum is broadly divided into three categories as: compulsory cross-cutting core subjects, Field of Specialization and Elective. There are 4 fields of specializations as follows: Humanities, Science/Mathematics, Business Studies and Technology. Subjects under each of the fields are as follows:

See Waec Curriculum 2017:

Core Subjects
Business Studies
1. English
2. Math
3. Trade
4. Comp-Stud
5. Civic Education
1. Nigerian Lang
2. Lit-In-English
3. Geography
4. Government
5. CRS
6. IRS
7. History
8. Visual Art
9. Music
10. French
11. Arabic
12. Economics
1. Biology
2. Chemistry
3. Physics
4. Further Math
5. Agriculture
6. Physical Education
7. Health Education
1. Account
2. Store Mgt
3. Office Practice
4. Insurance
5. Commerce
1. T-D
2. Metal Work
3. Basic Electricity
4. Electronics
5. Auto Mechanics
6. Building Construction
7. Wood Work
8. Home Mgt
9. Foods & Nut
10. Clothing & Text
  1. The new curriculum took effect from September 2011(and its still in place as at Nov 2016). However, the old SS curriculum is to be phased out systematically over a period of three years i.e. September 2011 to June 2014(update: It has now been phased out).
  2. All students are to offer all 5 core compulsory subjects.
  3. Students are to choose 3 or 4 subjects from their field of specialization i.e. Humanities, Science/Math, Business Studies or Technology.
  4. Students are to choose their compulsory entrepreneurship from the available list of 35 trades.
  5. Students may choose 1 elective subject outside their field of specialization provided that the total number of examinable subjects is NOT more than nine (9).
  6. In summary, students must offer: 5-core subjects, 3-4 subjects from field of specialization and 1 elective subject.

Click here to check your NEW JAMB Result now! AD: Click here to Read Latest School News, Jobs, Scholarships
Click here to see the latest Job Vacancies in Nigeria.

Leave a Reply